Before starting the module I was guilty of assuming that this alternative working method in the form of blogs, would be more ‘easy’ than conventional essay writing. I quickly realised however, that just setting up the blog pushed me outside of my technical comfort zone (despite being a digital ‘native’!) and the short word count shocked me into writing in a concise manor, something I had rarely experienced in the past.

Coincidentally, I started a job last week within copywriting and will be using WordPress every time I am in the office. Practicing this platform within both contexts will allow me to enhance my capabilities rapidly, displaying a way in which UOSM2033 is already benefiting me within the working world. Additionally, SEO is something that I must consider within my role and one of the key elements is that content on any page should be between 300 – 700 words, to keep readers engaged.

I certainly could appreciate this rule when reading my course mate’s posts. With only 400 words my attention did not lapse and it was easy to sift through information, returning to points I wanted to reconsider for my comments. I found Will’s post particularly insightful and felt inspired by his unorthodox approach to the task, especially as the point he made is something I can personally relate to. This reminded me of the significance of originality, especially within the online world, as the information is so vast it is easy to remain unnoticed.

Receiving feedback on my own post also enabled me to look at the work in a slightly different perspective – as Tom drew upon his own experiences to reflect whether he considered himself to truly be a ‘native’.  For these reasons, the importance of interaction between peers was the certainly the most significant learning tool I took away from topic one. Moving forwards I will aim to utilise this tool through reading more blogs and comments whilst attempting to spark discussions with the writers through my comments.

My comments can be viewed at:

https://whatwouldwilldo.wordpress.com/2016/10/16/none-of-the-above/

https://emjw1g15.wordpress.com/2016/10/16/topic-1-explain-the-concept-of-digital-visitors-and-residents-drawing-upon-your-reading-and-your-own-online-experiences-to-date-in-support-of-the-points-that-you/


Word count: 330

