sockpuppets

 

As mentioned in the topic one reflection, I learnt that reading the posts and comments of others was the most useful tool I could utilise going forwards. Therefore, I took more time in writing for topic two, reading through my peers’ work first in order to gain varied points of view and different approaches to the question. Using this in conjunction with my own research I realised that many posts seemed to focus around having multiple ‘partial online identities’, such as a professional Linkedin profile compared to an Instagram account – which to me did not properly address the question in hand. I used this analysis to shape my own writing and was focused on clearly explaining what I understood to be an ‘online identity’ early in my post. I did so using the ‘Meta Ego’ and in all three of the comments left on my post this was mentioned to be a strong introduction. In my future work I will attempt to find ways of visualising ideas again and could even create these myself for further authenticity.

One of the posts I commented on, written by Davina, was my favourite of all that I read. I was engaged by the various media she used to support her points – in particular, the presentation she created giving balanced and clear facts supporting both sides of her argument. This inspired me to create my infographic, using Piktochart, which simultaneously added another skill to my digital repertoire.

The comments I received in reply to my post were very positive and I was happy to answer the questions within them as it made me think more deeply upon certain parts of the topic such as whistle blowers and where I truly stood in regards to the ‘for and against’ anonymous identities argument. Overall, I was pleased with this post and will aim to carry what I’ve learnt to the next topic to make an even more engaging and unique piece of work.

My comments can be viewed here:

Davina’s here

Allie’s here


Word count: 327

